Le Tour De France – Stage 16

Le Tour De France – Stage 16

Nelson Mandela Day and a good chance for Mark Cavendish from Dimension Data to win the stage and to make the day super special for the SA team. The Swiss nation was pinning their hopes on Fabian Cancellara from team Trek-Segafredo to win the stage in his home town in his last Tour de France. It was however the Slovakian people who celebrated their rider’s third stage win this year and his 7th podium thus far this year.
The stage from Moirans-en-Montagne to Berne over a distance of 209 kilometres was won by Peter Sagan from team Tinkoff in a time of 4h26m02s at an average speed of 47.14km/h. He beat Alexander Kristoff from team Katusha by less than a centimetre on the line followed by Sondre Enger in third place in the same time allocation.

Positions after Stage 16

Positions after Stage 16 (a)

Positions after Stage 16 (b)

The Yellow jersey remains with Chris Froome from team Sky who still leads Bauke Mollema from Trek-Segafredo by 1m47s. Adam Yates from Orica-Bikeexchange remained in 3rd place still 2m45s behind the leader.


The Polka Dot Jersey competition is still lead by Rafal Majka from Tinkoff on 127 points followed by Thomas de Gendt from Lotto Soudal still on 90 points. Daniel Navarro from Cofidis on 69 points is in 3rd position.


The Green Jersey remains with Peter Sagan from team Tinkoff now on 405 points with Mark Cavendish from Dimension Data on 291 points. They are followed by Marcel Kittel from Ettix-Quick Step still on 228 points in 3rd place.


The White Jersey competition is still lead by Adam Yates from Orica-Bikeexchange. He is still followed by Louis Meintjes from team Lampre-Merida 3m3s back. Warren Barguil from team Giant-Elpecin is still in 3rd place but now 16m30s behind the leader.


Team Movistar remains in the lead in the team competition and is leading Team Sky by 6m29s. BMC Racing is still in 3rd place 9m01s behind the leader.


Louis Meintjes from Lampre – Merida remained in 12th spot in the general classification still 5m48s behind the Yellow Jersey after finishing the stage in 15th place in the same time as the winners. Daryl Impey from Orica-Bikeexchange climbed two spots to 41st position (now 1h11m24s behind the leader) after finishing 80th in the stage 1m20s behind the winner. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg from Dimension Data climbed one spot to 113th position and is now 2h27m58s behind the leader after finishing 73rd  only 59 seconds behind the winner.


The Tour has now completed 2922 kilometres at an overall average speed of 40.2km/h.


The last placed rider is still Sam Bennett from team Bora-Argon 18 who is 3h38m10s behind the leader.


The next stage from Berne to Finhaut-Emosson over a distance of 184.5 kilometres remains in Switzerland for the full stage. It includes two Cat3 climbs, a Cat1 climb and finally an Out-Of-Category climb up to the finishing line. The riders will make the most of their rest day before taking on this stage.


By Herman Steyn