Update – Stage 5

Update – Stage 5

The climbs during stage 5 provided for some changes in the classifications and it proved to be a long day for the sprinters!


The stage from Limoges to Le Lioran over a distance of 216 kilometres was won by Greg van Avermaet from BMC Racing Team in a time of 5h31m36s at an average speed of 39.08km/h. He was followed by Thomas de Gendt from Lotto Soudal 2m34s back and Rafal Majka from Tinkoff in third 5m4 seconds behind the winner.


The Yellow jersey changed hands and is now worn by Greg van Avermaet from BMC Racing who leads the overall classification by 5m11s from Julian Alaphilippe from team Ettix-Quick Step and Alejandro Valverde from Movistar in third place, only 2 seconds back. Christopher Froome from team Sky remained in fifth position but is now 5m17s behind the leader.


The lead in the Polka Dot Jersey competition also changed with Thomas de Gendt from Lotto Soudal now leading on 13 points from Greg van Avermaet on 11 points and Jasper Stuyven from team Trek-Segafredo on 5 points in third place.


The Green Jersey remained with Peter Sagan from team Tinkoff, now on 150 points. Mark Cavendish from Dimension Data is second on 146 points followed by Marcel Kittel from Etixx-Quick Step on 140 points in third place.


The White Jersey competition is still lead by Julian Alaphilippe from team Etixx-Quick Step by 6 seconds over Warren Barguil from team Giant-Elpecin and Wilco Kelderman from team Lotto NL-Jumbo. Louis Meintjes from Lampre-Merida is still in 5th place 17 seconds behind the leader in the competition.


The team competition is now lead by BMC Racing from Team Sky in second place 3m36s back with Movistar in third place 4m12s behind the leaders.


Louis Meintjes from Lampre – Merida moved up to 19th place (5m28s behind the leader) in the general classification while Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg from Dimension Data dropped to 110th (29m17s behind the leader) and Daryl Impey from Orica-Bikeexchange moved up to 65th position (18m36s behind the leader).


All 198 riders who started the Tour is still riding and completed the stage. The Tour has now completed 1048 kilometres at an overall average speed of 40.97km/h.


The last placed rider is still Michael Morkov from Team Katusha who is now 1h10m25s behind the leader after finishing the stage yet again in the last place, this time 33m14s behind the winner.


The riders who climbed the most positions are Thomas de Gendt from Lotto Soudal and Rafal Majka from Tinkoff who both climbed 121 positions. Peter Sagan dropped 75 positions from first to 76th spot.


Stage 6 from Arpajon-sur-Cère to Montauban over a distance of 190.5 kilometres includes two Cat 3 and a Cat 4 climb. The route follows rolling roads for almost all the way and the fight for the Green Jersey may very well heat up in this stage.


Story By Herman Steyn